47 National Champions

268 All-America Awards

Swim & Dive Jumps into the 2018-19 Season Saturday

Swim & Dive Jumps into the 2018-19 Season Saturday

MARQUETTE, Mich. – Northern Michigan University Swim & Dive jumps into the 2018-19 season on Saturday with two meets.  TEN swimmers will head to Lawrence, Kansas to compete in the Collegiate National Open Water Championships while the rest of the team takes part in the Green/Gold Meet inside PEIF Pool at 10 a.m.



Ten student-athletes will compete in the third annual Collegiate National Open Water Championships. Entries are competitive and limited to just 70 entries for men and 70 entries for the women from all three NCAA divisions, the NAIA and the NJCAA. 

The race consists of an open water 5k swim in the Lone Star Lake outside Lawrence. The women's race begins at 8:30 a.m. while the men's race begins at 10:30 a.m. 

Compete on the women's side will be senior Sara Foucault (Whitewater, Wis.) and sophomores Cassandra Clark (Newport News, Va.), Gabriella Spajic (New South Wales, Australia / De La Salle Catholic College Cronulla) and Katharina Springhetti (Tramin, Italy/Auerora Specialized Secondary School for Economic Field).

On the men's side, seniors Grantas Dapkus (Kaunas, Lithuania/Kaunas Saule), Arnoldo Herrera (Heredia, Costa Rica / Saint Jude), David Miranda (Vinaros, Spain/IES Jose Viloplane), and Curran Moffitt (Rochester Hills, Mich./Rochester), junior Jonas Reinhold (Nienhagen, Germany/Holty Gymnasium-Celle) and sophomore Drew Del Papa (Warren, Mich./Oxford Virtual Academy) will represent NMU.


Junior Rachel Helm (Newcastle, England/Burnside College) returns to the women's team after winning her second National Championship last season. Helm captured the 200-yard backstroke by nearly a full body length. Her freshman season, she claimed the 100-yard backstroke. She also picked up four victories at the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championships.


This season will see the first four-year senior competitors on the men's side since restarting the program in 2015. NMU features 13 seniors on the men's team who joined the program as freshman and have helped build the program into a conference championship contender. Renars Bundzis (Riga, Latvia /Riga Secondary School), Joshua Cosgrove (Bury, U.K./Bury College), Kyle Flickinger (Brimley, Mich./Sault Area), Esteban Gutierrez (Chihuahua, Mexico/Colojio De Buchilleres SEA), Baris Kancoglu (Ankara, Turkey/Ted Ankara Private), Ryan Leonard (South Wales, Australia/Toronto), Benjamin Lindberg (Skelleftea, Sweden/Belderskolan), Janne Roovers (Khobar, Saudi Arabia/Dhahran) and Nathan Rotundo (Marquette, Mich.) join Dapkus, Herrera, Miranda, and Moffitt in looking to lead the men's team to their first GLIAC Championship this year.


In addition to Foucault, Becca Arakelian (Livonia, Mich./Livonia Stevenson), Carolina Artacho (Sao Paulo, Brazil/Paralelo), Emily Bell (London, England/Mill Hill), Samantha Dickie (Canton, Mich./Mercy), Regan Kilburn (Muscatine, Iowa/Muscatine), Mackenzie Mentel (Missoula, Mont. / Hellgate), Angela Probstfeld (White Lake, Mich/Lakeland), Savanna Saunders (Manchester, England/Bridgewater), Dana Stroven (Howell, Mich. / Hartland) and Taylor Susa (Buffalo, Minn.) who each enter their senior season on the women's side and will look to guide the team after a third place finish at the GLIAC Championships last year.


Eight new freshman joined the women's team while the men's team features seven new faces.  Brianna Arnold (Black Creek, Wis./Appleton North), Mary Grossman (Goshen, Ind./Northridge), Mallory Irelan (Owosso, Mich./Owosso), Lucy Londergon (Minooka, Ill./Minooka), Emma Love (Louisville, Ky./Floyd Central), Valerie Patterson (Wyoming, Minn./Forest Lake), Riyah Rudeen (Rothschild, Wis. / D.C. Everest) and Cassandra Willenbring (Woodbury, Minn./St. Croix Preparatory Academy) join the women's team. Henry Bauer (Howell, Mich./Howell), Lukas Bauer (Redwood City, Calif./Ocean Grove Charter), Jon Busse (Stillwater, Minn.), Grant Combs (Clinton Township, Mich./International Academy of Macomb), Conor Graydon (Keller, Texas), Sam Konigsberg (Ann Arbor, Mich./Skyline), and Levi Lewis (Little Rock, Ark./Little Rock Central) came to the men's team.  All 15 will look to make an impact during their rookie season.