Ketterson and Jarzin Named CCSA Skiers of the Year; Fjeldheim Named Coach of the Year

Ketterson and Jarzin Named CCSA Skiers of the Year; Fjeldheim Named Coach of the Year

MARQUETTE, Mich. -- Junior Zak Ketterson (Bloomington, Minn.) and freshman Abigail Jarzin (Green Bay, Wis.) were named the Central Collegiate Skiing Association Skiers of the Year while Head Coach Sten Fjeldheim was named the Coach of the Year. 

Ketterson won every CCSA race he entered for the season and was named a two-time All-American at the NCAA Championships. In the 10K Skate, he took 10th place while he claimed seventh in the 20K Classic race. At the U.S. National Championships, he posted three Top Ten Finishes and has been named to the U.S. Under-23 World Championship Team.

Jarzin was the top finisher for the women's team in both races at the NCAA Championships and was the only true-freshman to take All-American honors, taking seventh in the 5k Skate race. She was 14th in the Classic 15k. Jarzin was the top NCAA Qualifier from the CCSA regular season qualifying races, and won the 5K Skate at the Regional Championship and the 15K Classic at the CCSA Championships. 

Fjeldheim is in his 32nd season leading the NMU Nordic Ski teams. Both the men's and women's team dominated the central region, consistently having athletes in both the men's and women's events atop the podium.  This season, his team won the College Cup at the U.S. National Championships and finished as the fourth among the Nordic teams at the NCAA Championships.  His efforts led to 6 All-American performances which pushes his career total to 103 All-Americans in his tenure. 

Several skiers have continued their 2018-19 season and are competing in the U.S. Distance Nationals this weekend at Presque Isle, Maine.