52 All-GLIAC Awards

37 All-America Awards

NMU Passes Out Men's Basketball Awards

Marc Renelique
Marc Renelique
MARQUETTE, Mich. – The Northern Michigan University men's basketball team recently passed out its team awards for the 2009-10 season. Marc Renelique and Chris Warner each picked up two awards.
Renelique took home the Most Valuable Player and Top Free Throw Percentage Awards. He was a first team All-Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) selection for the 2009-10 season. Renelique led the Wildcats in the scoring column by averaging 17.3 ppg (416 points) for sixth in the conference. He also grabbed 79 rebounds (3.3 rpg), with 28 assists, 20 steals and one block. Renelique led the GLIAC in three-point field goals made (3.2 avg/g). From the free throw line, Renelique was 55-62 (.887), which ranked him third in the GLIAC.
Warner received the Best Defensive Player and Kip Taylor Courage and Leadership Awards. A selection to the GLIAC North Division All-Defensive Team, Warner led the 2009-10 'Cats with 41 steals (1.6 spg). His steals ranked him eighth in the GLIAC for the 2009-10 season. Warner also averaged 6.7 ppg and 5.1 rpg. He also recorded 45 assists and 10 blocks for the past season.   
Jared Benson was given the Top Rebounder Award. He led the 'Cats with 159 rebounds (6.1 rpg) which ranked him ninth in the GLIAC. Forty five of his rebounds came on the offensive end while 114 were on the defensive end.
The Newcomer of the Year Award went to Mylan Murphy. He averaged 7.4 ppg and 5.5 rpg. Murphy also collected 30 assists, 19 blocks and 16 steals for the 2009-10 season.
Sebastien Salois and Austin Rowe shared the Sixth Man Award. Salois averaged almost three points a game (2.9 ppg) and grabbed almost two rebounds a game (1.7 rpg). He was 20-56 from the three-point line for the 'Cats. Rowe averaged a little over six points a game (6.1 ppg) and two rebounds a game (2.3 rpg). He also chipped in with 17 assists, seven blocks and 18 steals for the past season. Rowe canned 17-50 three-pointers during the 2009-10 season.