Staff Directory

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Forrest Karr
Director of Athletics / Adjunct Professor of Business Law – MBA Program
906-227-1826 fkarr@nmu.edu
Carl Bammert
Associate AD - Facilities
906-227-2465 cbammert@nmu.edu
Bridget Kyle
Associate AD - Sports Administration/Senior Woman Administrator (SWA)
906-227-2371 brberube@nmu.edu
Robin Burke
Associate AD - Finance & Business Operations
906-227-2491 roburke@nmu.edu
Jess Jones
Development Officer for Wildcat Athletics
906-227-2662 jesjones@nmu.edu
Julie Rochester
Faculty Athletics Representative
906-227-2026 jrochest@nmu.edu
Christy Lake
Ticket Manager
906-227-2839 chrlake@nmu.edu
Byron Synstegaard
Event Operations Coordinator
906-227-2855 bsynsteg@nmu.edu
Hans Andel
Equipment Supervisor
906-227-1110 handel@nmu.edu
Chris Busch
Assistant Facilities Manager
906-227-1270 cbusch@nmu.edu
Kathy Malay
Principal Secretary
906-227-2851 kmalay@nmu.edu


Campus Recreation

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tricia Bush
Associate AD - Campus Recreation
906-227-1692 tsheldon@nmu.edu
Stacy Busch
Principal Account Clerk - Rec Sports
906-227-2414 sbusch@nmu.edu
Christopher Smith
Intramural Sports & Outdoor Recreation Manager
906-227-1561 chrsmith@nmu.edu
Katie Moe
Campus Recreation and Fitness Manager
906-227-2421 ktheut@nmu.edu


Student-Athlete Medical Services

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dr. David Luoma
NMU Medical Director
906-227-2355 daluoma@nmu.edu
Dr. John Lehtinen
Team Physician
906-227-1209 john.lehtinen@mghs.org
Jason Laxo
Head Athletic Trainer (WBB, MBB, WSW, MSW, WSK, MSK)
906-227-1653 jlaxo@nmu.edu
Jonathan Bauers
Athletic Trainer (MFB)
906-227-1195 jbauers@nmu.edu
Megan DeChambeau
Athletic Trainer (WVB, MIH, WGO, MGO)
906-227-2016 memccull@nmu.edu
Kris Rowe
Athletic Trainer (WSO, WCC, WTI, WTO)
906-227-2027 krowe@nmu.edu
Emily Lawrence
Athletic Trainer (MSO, WLA)
906-227-1195 emillawr@nmu.edu


Athletics Communications

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Shawn Chambers
Athletics Communications Manager (WSO, MSO, WCC, MIH, WSK, MSK, WTI, WTO)
906-227-1913 shchambe@nmu.edu
Allen Dehority
Athletics Communications Manager (WVB, MFB, WBB, MBB, WSW, MSW, WLA, WGO, MGO)
906-227-1917 adehorit@nmu.edu


Strength and Conditioning

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Colin Wistuba
Interim Head Strength & Conditioning Coach
316-650-9890 cwistuba@nmu.edu


Cheerleading

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Lucy Anthony
Cheerleading Adviser
luanthon@nmu.edu


Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Bill Sall
Head Coach
906-250-0052 wsall@nmu.edu
Charles Belt
Assistant Coach
906-250-0029 cbeltiii@nmu.edu
Terry Nash
Assistant Coach
414-640-2351 Tnash737@gmail.com


Football

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kyle Nystrom
Head Coach
906-227-2105 kynystro@nmu.edu
Kirby Cannon
Defensive Coordinator
906-227-2105 kicannon@nmu.edu
Marty Higgins
Offensive Coordinator
906-227-2105 mhiggins@nmu.edu
Karl Maslowski
Special Teams Coordinator / Running Backs and Tight Ends Coach
906-227-2105 kmaslows@nmu.edu
Bob Jurasin
Defensive Line Coach
906-227-2105 rjurasin@nmu.edu
J.T. Jurasin
Receivers Coach
906-227-2105 jjurasin@nmu.edu
Scott McDougall
Linebackers Coach
906-227-2105 smcdouga@nmu.edu
Buddy Mitchell
Cornerbacks Coach
906-227-2105 alexmitc@nmu.edu
Jace Daniels
Offensive Line Coach
906-227-2105 jadaniel@nmu.edu
Buck Nystrom
Volunteer Coach
906-227-2105
Herb Grenke
Volunteer Coach
906-227-2105
Kelsey Nelson
Football Operations Assistant


Men's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Bob Bastian
Head Coach
906-227-2106 rbastian@nmu.edu
Alex Palmer
Assistant Coach
906-236-0747 alpalmer@nmu.edu


Men's Ice Hockey

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Grant Potulny
Head Coach
906-227-1209 gpotulny@nmu.edu
Byron Pool
Associate Head Coach
906-227-1209 bpool@nmu.edu
Rob Lehtinen
Assistant Coach
906-227-1209 rlehtine@nmu.edu
Dieter Kochan
Volunteer Coach
906-227-1209
Jeff Cornock
Director of Hockey Operations
906-227-1411 jcornock@nmu.edu


Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
David Poggi
Head Coach
906-227-2469 dpoggi@nmu.edu
Jon Sandoval
Assistant Coach
906-227-2469 josandov@nmu.edu


Nordic Skiing

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Sten Fjeldheim
Head Coach
906-458-0459 sfjeldhe@nmu.edu
Andy Keller
Assistant Coach
612-590-1739 andkelle@nmu.edu


Swimming & Diving

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Heidi Voigt
Head Coach
906-227-2827 hvoigt@nmu.edu
Matt Williams
Assistant Coach
906-227-2827 mattwill@nmu.edu
Connor Dorff
Diving Coach
906-227-2827


Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Troy Mattson
Head Coach
906-227-2643 tmattson@nmu.edu
Casey Thousand
Associate Head Coach
906-227-2109 cthousan@nmu.edu
Mark Dellangelo
Assistant Coach


Women's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jenny Ryan
Head Coach
906-458-0639 jryan@nmu.edu
Luke Pease
Assistant Coach
517-231-1626 lpease@nmu.edu


Women's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Bob Bastian
Head Coach
906-227-2106 rbastian@nmu.edu
Alex Palmer
Assistant Coach
906-236-0747 alpalmer@nmu.edu


Women's Lacrosse

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Emilia Ward
Head Coach
248-444-0291 emward@nmu.edu
Hilary Duda
Assistant Coach
612-810-2273 hduda@nmu.edu
Brianna Bangle
Student Assistant Coach


Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Sonia Basma
Head Coach
906-227-2139 sbasma@nmu.edu
Logan Langseth
Assistant Coach
906-227-2135 llangset@nmu.edu


Women's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jenny Ryan
Head Coach
906-458-0639 jryan@nmu.edu
Luke Pease
Assistant Coach
517-231-1626 lpease@nmu.edu
Michael Delleman
Assistant Coach
715-340-8169 mdellema@nmu.edu


Women's Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Lozier
Head Coach
906-227-1312 mlozier@nmu.edu
Kristen Pickett
Assistant Coach
906-227-1173 kpickett@nmu.edu
Amanda Falkenhagen
Student Assistant


Sponsors